Pumpkin Spice Everything, Bitches

It’s September and – holy shit, it’s almost my birthday. This year I’ll be 37, a number which I lamented to my mother because 1)goddamnit I’m OLD and 2) it’s a prime number. Not sure what to make of that symbolism there.

I’m not really old am I? Or is it just the feeling of not having Made It yet?

I’m not a has-been or a never-will-be. I’ve always been a late bloomer. Like fall this year, which just now decided that it would actually show up and kick summer off its triple-digit-temperatures high horse.

Today’s a chill day. A little rain, a little wind, the smell of the first fireplaces being lit. Just 2 weeks ago we blasted fans, now we’re bringing out the lap blankets.

The day’s writing is done. Certain scenes are kind of going nowhere fast right now so I went back to outlining. Who the fuck is that guy? Who the fuck is the other guy? What the fuck are they doing? Why the fuck are they mad at each other? Etc. In the last week I’ve researched Pentecostals, broken arms, amputations, osteogenesis imperfecta, and gay exorcism for this story. The research part is actually pretty neat because I end up falling in the internet rabbit hole and learning all kinds of other random crap that I can stash away for possible later use.

Next week will probably be full of boring Adult things like going to the unemployment office, getting my driver’s license updated, seeing my brain doctor, and cleaning up my room after the last couple of sewing adventures trashed it.

#COSPLAY #YAY BRAINS

I am stupidly proud of my Miriam Black cosplay that is like 80% finished. If you’re at Salt Lake Comic Con this year, look for me. I’ll be hanging out with River Song and fangirling over the MST3K guests. And maybe, just maybe, I’ll tell you how you die.*

The Trubel cosplay is also doing well, though I need to get a pair of jeans I don’t mind shredding. *time travels back to 1993 when everyone was doing that*

The nice thing about being a cosplayer is never wondering about Halloween costumes. I’m literally spoiled for choice here. #firstworldproblems

I mean at this point I look in my closet and it’s like this:

332pedi
Stay out of my closet, Monroe

My cosplay collection thus far:

Ninth Doctor
Tenth Doctor
Eleventh Doctor
Fourth Doctor
a very Twelfth Doctor-ish coat
Osgood
River Song
Ohila of the Sisterhood of Karn
Agent Scully
Chell
Theresa “Trubel” Rubel
Miriam Black
Catrina De Los Muertos a la Jinkx Monsoon

In the coming years I plan to add a Classic Time Lord, an updated Doctor’s Mother, a Strax, and a Madame Vastra, along with any other characters I happen to fall in love with.

*Miriam Black knows how you’re going to die. #SPOILERS

Leave a Reply

